Skip navigation

2021 President's Awards Convocation held at SFU

April 28, 2021 Tags: Academics , Distinctions , University News

President's Awards recipients 2021

Highlights from the President’s Awards Convocation  

View Event Video 

Explore the Photo Galley

Download the Program

The President’s Awards Convocation was held on Tuesday, April 27, 2021 in the Maurice Stokes Athletics Center. The opening prayer was led by Rev. Matthew Simons, T.O.R., Director of Campus Ministry, following by the National Anthem by Isabella Tuttoilmondo.  Speaker for the evening was Dr. John Miko, Associate Dean of the Shields School of Business. 

The Awards Convocation was hosted by Honors students, Andrew Crusciel, an English-Pre Law major from Loretto, PA, and Megan Wood, a Psychology and Spanish dual-major from White Haven, PA. 

Funded and Endowed awards were presented by Fr. Malachi Van Tassell, T.O.R., Ph.D., University President, and Dr. Karan H. Powell, Ph.D., Vice President for Academic Affairs. 

The following awards were presented:

Campus Ministry Stewardship Award

  • Jonathan Allard (Keene, NH)

Dorothy Day Outreach Humanitarian Award

  • Julia Chmielowiec (Coventry, CT) 

  • Justin McIntyre (Grantville, PA)

Act 101 Program Academic Achievement Award

  • Amy Sibert (Ebensburg, PA)

Margaret M. Tobin Freshman/Sophomore Awards

  • Paige Bacigal (Campbell Hill, NY)

  • Jaela House (South Williamsport, PA)

Margaret M. Tobin Junior/Senior Award

  • Jessica Woods (Ebensburg, PA)

Malcolm S. Knowles Continuing Education Award

  • Debra Foor (New Enterprise, PA)

  • Jacqueline Mazeika (Ebensburg, PA)

Rhea Gaunt Memorial Award

  • Alissa James (Dysart, PA)

Anne Sloan Borland Award

  • Evan Allen (Phoenix, AZ)

Mark N. Shank Award

  • Nicole Davis (Robesonia, PA)

Class of 1982 Award

  • Paige Theobald (Tinton Falls, NJ)

Kaylee Harford Award

  • Nathan Wolfe (Bellwood, PA)

Mary and Paul Zovinka Undergraduate Research Award

  • Owen Bartlebaugh (Punxsutawney, PA)

Angela (Bionas) Damin, R.N. Nursing Award

  • Abbigail Riskus (Portage, PA)

Theresa Wild Memorial Award

  • Michaela Mattivi (Sarver, PA)

James W. and Helen Marie Lieb Award

  • Jared Ohler (Windber, PA)

Rev. Gabriel J. Zeis, T.O.R., Education Award

  • Dakota Graham (Phoenixville, PA)

Rev. Gabriel J. Zeis, T.O.R., Franciscan Values Award

  • Arthur Kinch (Fort Worth, TX)

Christopher A. Collier Memorial Award

  • Anthony Labriola (Altoona, PA)

Richard Dorsey Muller Memorial Scholarship Award

  • Christian Griego (Carlsbad, CA)

  • Katie Page (Columbus, OH)

  • Daniel Henry (Hamburg, NY)

M. Jayne Kimlin Award in Physical Science

  • Regina Edgington (Olmstead Falls, OH)

Armond A. Manfredi Junior Awards

  • Accounting—Randy McGee (West Leechburg, PA)

  • Finance—Kevin Smolyn  (Holland, PA)

  • Management—Jenna Mastellone (New York, NY)

  • Marketing—Jarrod Piper (Hollidaysburg, PA)

Anthony and Mary Pekala Award

  • Emily Bucher (Altoona, PA)

Paul Deskevich Outstanding Mathematics Student Award

  • Regina Edgington (Olmstead Falls, OH)

Gunard B. Carlson Memorial Foundation/Creating Writing and Visual Arts Contest

Visual Arts Honorable Mentions

  • Cassidy Bezek (Johnstown, PA)

  • Kiley Pacun (Portage, PA)

  • Vittoria LaRosa (Wexford, PA)

  • Katelyn Diehl (Duncansville, PA)

  • Taya Whitfield (Marion Center, PA)

Visual Arts Overall Winner--Taya Whitfield

Creative Writing Honorable Mentions

  • Grace O’Connell (Tulsa, OK)

  • Faith McMullen (Loretto, PA)

  • Jonathan Kirk (Patton, PA)

  • Kei-Shon Graham, (Lancaster, PA)

Creative Writing Winners

  • 1st place—Jack Weidner (Johnstown, PA)

  • 2nd place—Scott Riner (Dysart, PA)

  • 3rd place—Anthony Vassalotti (Duncansville, PA)

  • 4th place—Wendelyn Bintrim (Johnstown, PA)

Dr. William B. and Patricia L. Furlong Upperclassman Scholarship Award

  • Scott Riner (Dysart, PA)

Ann Eppard Memorial Scholarship and Congressional Internship

  • Andrew Crusciel (Loretto, PA)

  • Shae Moran (Rumson, NJ)

Academic Achievement Awards

  • Mikayla Beck (Johnstown, PA)

  • Jonathan Kirk (Patton, PA)

  • Jillian Leppert (Alum Bank, PA)

  • Jarrod Piper (Hollidaysburg, PA)

  • Jack Weidner (Johnstown, PA)

Honors Program Graduates: Mikala Beck (Johnstown, PA); Mia Capuzzi (Latrobe, PA); Kelsey Donoughe (Altoona, PA); Samuel Forcenito (East Earl, PA); Emma Gentile (Evans City, PA); Kei-shon Graham (Lancaster, PA); Randee McGee (West Leechburg, PA) ; Haley Mesmer (Lexington Park, MD); Nathan Moore (Clymer, PA); Shaelyn Parry (Gibsonia, PA); Eva Schall (Apollo, PA); Joseph Theiss (Erie, PA); Jack Weidner (Johnstown, PA); and Madison Wright (Eaton, OH). 

Mr. and Ms. Frankie Finalists: Ashley Astle (Turtle Creek, PA); Rebekah Finafrock (Fairfield, PA); Kari Lagan (Bel Air, MD); Lauren Montecalvo (Duncansville, PA); Jessica Woods (Ebensburg, PA); Dylan Gordon (Big Cove Tannery, PA); Kei-shon Graham, Randee McGee (West Leechburg, PA); Joseph Theiss (Erie, PA); and Jack Weidner (Johnstown, PA).

Mr. and Ms. Frankie for 2021 are Lauren Montecalvo (Duncansville, PA) and Dylan Gordon (Big Cove Tannery, PA).

Saint Francis Honor Society Distinguished Faculty Finalists: Dr. Carrie Beebout, Associate Professor of Physician Assistant Sciences; Dr. Rosemary Bertossi, Professor of Religious Studies; Dr. Mark Buckwalter, Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice; Dr. Jill Cavalet, Clinical Professor of Physician Assistant Sciences; Dr. Denise Holladay Damico, Associate Professor of History; Dr. Gail Drus, Associate Professor of Biology; Ms. Jessica Dunlap, Instructor of Accounting; Dr. Lane Loya, Professor of Biology; Dr. Angela Seidel, Associate Professor of Accounting; Mr. Kent Tonkin, Assistant Professor  of MHRM and Management Information Systems; and Dr. Edward Zovinka, Professor of Chemistry.

Dr. Carrie Beebout, Associate Professor of Physician Assistant Sciences, was the winner of the Saint Francis Honor Society Distinguished Faculty Award.

Gerald and Helen Swatsworth Faculty Award Finalists: Dr. Joel Bandstra, Professor of Environmental Engineering; Dr. Justin Merry, Professor of Biology; Dr. Angela Seidel, Associate Professor of Accounting; Dr. Brennan Thomas, Associate Professor of English; Mr. Kent Tonkin, Assistant Professor  of MHRM and Management Information Systems;  and Dr. Irene Wolf, Associate Professor of Biology. 

Dr. Justin Merry, Professor of Biology, was the winner of the Gerald and Helen Swatsworth Faculty Award.

Also recognized as Professor Emeritus were Dr. Mark Lynch, Professor Emeritus of Social Work, and Dr. Stephen LoRusso, Professor Emeritus of Physical Therapy/Exercise Physiology.

Featured News