

Saint Francis University Faculty and Staff Recognition Luncheon September 10, 2020

> 11:30 a.m. JFK Lounge

Program of Events

Invocation Very Rev. Malachi Van Tassell, T.O.R., Ph.D.

President

Lunch

Recognition of Retirees Very Rev. Malachi Van Tassell, T.O.R., Ph.D.

President

Faculty Emeriti/Retirees

Dr. Marian G. Langer Distinguished Professor Emerita

30 years of service of Biology

Retirees

William D. Babyak General Trades/Carpenter

25 years of service Physical Plant

Monica A. Campbell Retail Server, Frankies Dining Service

22 years of service Dining Services

Marjorie A. Conrad Custodial Worker I 40 years of service Physical Plant

William A. Horner General Trades Supervisor

20 years of service Physical Plant

Loretta A. Johnson Assistant Professor

15 years of service Biology

Dr. Margaret Shellenberg Morales Associate Professor

25 years of service Literature and Languages

Dr. Judith P. Pallone Instructor 9 years of service Nursing

George F. Pyo Chief Information Officer

39 years of service Information Technologies Services

Thomas M. Sheehan Electrician

36 years of service Physical Plant

Joyce A. Weakland Custodial Worker I 37 years of service Physical Plant

Theresa Wilson Director

20 years of service Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning

Presentation of Very Rev. Malachi Van Tassell, T.O.R., Ph.D.

Special Awards President

The 31st annual Soriano Outstanding Service Awards: The awards are made possible through an endowment established by the late Mr. Theodore J. Long of Altoona, PA.

Theodore Soriano – Finalists for Administrators

Ashley L. Krinjeck Laura D. Papcunik

Richard E. Hazlett, Jr. Robert J. Young, Jr.

Theodore Soriano Outstanding Service Award for Administrators

Richard E. Hazlett, Jr. - Network Administrator, IT Services

"Rick works behind the scenes making sure we have a working network and Internet. He has had a lot added to his plate the past year and he has successfully kept us up and running and made many improvements as well."

John Soriano – Finalists for Operational Employees

Jennifer L. Adams Neil R. McCallay

Linda A. Kline Beth Ann Warner

John Soriano Outstanding Service Award for Operational Employees

Neil R. McCallay - Classroom Audio Visual Technician, IT Services

"The dedication and professionalism Neil displays each day shines a positive light on the IT Services department as a whole. Faculty can be confident that any classroom problems that arise are quickly taken care of. Neil often works beyond his scope of work to negotiate budgets and develop better classroom solutions to ensure the proper function of new and old technology in the classrooms."

William Babyak General Trades/Carpenter/Roofer

Bill Babyak has been a faithful, dedicated employee for Saint Francis University for 25 years. His expertise in roofing systems, roofing repair, and roof replacement has been a tremendous asset to the University over the years. Bill's quiet demeanor and pleasant disposition has been appreciated in the Physical Plant group. He has been a team player throughout his career.

For 25 years of faithful Franciscan service, Saint Francis University extends its heartfelt gratitude.

Dr. Margaret A. Shellenberg Morales Associate Professor of Spanish and the Women's Studies Program

Dr. Margaret A. Shellenberg Morales began teaching at Saint Francis University in 1995 as a Visiting Instructor of Spanish. After earning her Ph.D. in 2002, Dr. Morales was promoted to Assistant Professor of Spanish in 2003 and Associate Professor of Spanish in 2009. In 2018, Dr. Morales joined the newly formed Women's Studies Program as an Associate Professor of Women's Studies.

Lovingly known to students as *Señora*, Dr. Morales greets everyone with a smile and an *Hola*; her enthusiasm for Spanish is apparent to students and faculty alike. As a Spanish teacher, Dr. Morales teaches with passion and perseverance and broadens students' global perspectives and cultural understanding. She is always thinking of new ways to attract students to the study of Spanish literature and culture, as well as the language more generally. She has developed study abroad opportunities in Mexico and Costa Rica and created new programs within Spanish, such as Medical Spanish and Spanish for Law Enforcement. She enjoys showing students and colleagues her beloved Mexico and has accompanied hundreds of students and numerous faculty on study abroad trips.

Dr. Morales is a voracious reader who loves a broad range of literatures. She is an advocate for social justice and will never let a cause go unnoticed. She has volunteered her time to help people in so many ways, including offering translation services for Spanish-speaking individuals in Blair and Cambria counties. In her twenty-five years at Saint Francis, Dr. Morales has been a valued colleague and an inspiration to the department and institution alike.

Anniversary Employee Awards

5 years

Caleb J. Drenning

Shannon R. Eckenrode

Dr. Shlomit Flaisher-Grinberg

Martin Kokoski

Mandy L. Lasinsky

Paul M. Little

Fr. Peter A. Lyons, T.O.R.

Antony S. Moore

Mary J. Riner

Heather M. Taylor

Carrie A. Vinglish

Dr. Guochang Wang

Christine S. Weiland

Neil R. McCallay

10 years

April J. Dodson Dr. Ying Li Stephanie M. Eckenrode Jared R. Long

Timothy J. Greene Br. Dennis I. Snyder, T.O.R. Andrew G. Helton Dr. Brennan M. Thomas Renee L. Hoffman Dr. Irene M. Wolf

15 years

Nicole M. Bauman

Darlene E. Prosser

James C. Brazill, Jr.

Janie L. Rager

Dr. Jill M. Cavalet

Dr. Kelly L. Rhodes

Dr. Patrick G. Farabaugh

Thomas R. Fritz

Gary A. Vermeulen

Loretta A. Johnson

Dr. Norbert N. Youmbi

Alyssa R. Locke

Robert J. Young, Jr

Susan M. Obarsky

20 years

Cleora L. Banks Dr. Pedro Muino

Sandra M. Evans Kristen M. Radovanic-Corcoran

Dr. Kerri A. Golden Douglas A. Sheehan

Dr. Amy E. Hudkins Kent P. Tonkin

Robert S. Krimmel, Jr. Dr. Daniel W. Wetklow

Jason D. Minor Theresa Wilson

25 years

William D. Babyak Dr. Margaret Shellenberg Morales

30 years

Denise M. Farabaugh Dr. Marian G. Langer

35 years

Jeffrey A. Boldizar Russell P. Shoff

Mary Ann Hoover

40 years

John C. Burick Theresa M. Kelly

Linda M. Freidhof Dr. Joseph A. Melusky

Employees completing degrees in the past year

Carole A. Dietrich - Bachelor of Science in Organizational Leadership

Caleb J. Drenning - Master of Business Administration

Anna M. Gatti - Master of Human Resource Management

Dr. Michael J. Groman - Doctor of Education

Matthew W. Hankinson - Master of Science in Instructional Design and Technology

Renee L. Hoffman - Bachelor of Arts in Early Childhood Education

Ryan M. Knee - Master of Education

Carly L. Luther - Associate of Science in Business Administration

Laura D. Papcunik - Master of Education

Carrie A. Vinglish - Bachelor of Science in Behavioral Science

Fr. Stephen Mary Waruszewski, T.O.R. - Master of Divinity

Other Acknowledgements

Student Government Association Outstanding Advisor Award

Dr. Heather A. Vitko

Saint Francis Honor Society Distinguished Faculty Award

Gale K. DeArmin

Gerald & Helen Swatsworth Faculty Award

Dr. John S. Miko

Community Engagement Awards Engaged Faculty Member

Dr. Rosemary J. Bertocci

Engaged Staff Member

Armando Balderas

Benediction

Very Rev. Malachi Van Tassell, T.O.R., Ph.D.

President

