Our News

The latest news at Saint Francis University

<< Go Back

Exercise physiology students attend American College of Sports Medicine meeting; win College Bowl Competition

November 11, 2013

 Saint Francis exercise physiology students were among more than 800 attendees at the Mid-Atlantic Regional Meeting of the American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) in Harrisburg on November 1-2. The students joined in various competitions and also presented during the meeting.

At the event Saint Francis exercise physiology students participated in and won the College Bowl Competition. They competed against 12 teams from schools in Pennsylvania, Maryland, Delaware, New Jersey, West Virginia, Washington DC, and New York. This is the second consecutive year the Saint Francis team won the competition. The Saint Francis team will proceed to the National Competition at the National ACSM Meeting in Florida on May 27-31. Team members include seniors Katrina Wilhite, Steven Mosey, and Brandt Beck.

Saint Francis students also competed in the Fitness Challenge. Team members included seniors Katrina Wilhite, Curtis Bell, Ryan Scoran, and junior Jackie Secriskey. Saint Francis placed fourth out of 12 teams, never scoring less than fifth place in any event.

Also at the meeting sophomore Seth Gray presented a poster entitled "The Relationship between Aerobic Fitness, BMI, and Measures of Perception while at Very High Altitudes." His work was co-authored by seniors Dan Drozdowsky and Marie Schoenenberger and faculty members Dr. Kris Wisniewski, assistant professor of exercise physiology, and Dr. Pat Fitzgerald, associate professor of physical therapy.

Dr. Kris Wisniewski presented a talk entitled, "Validation of OMNI-Walk/Run RPE in overweight and obese adults." Dr. Stephen LoRusso, professor of physical therapy, presented "Do Changes in Predicted Isotonic 1RM and Isometric Peak Torque Demonstrate Cross Education?” Dr. LoRusso’s work represents research conducted with graduate physical therapy students Nicole Brownyard, Skylar Hay, Rachel Hiester, John Pion, and Sara Schlanger.