Skip navigation

SFU inducts 20 into National Society of Leadership and Success

December 19, 2019 Tags: Academics

nsls fall 2019

Four additional members receive higher certifications

The Saint Francis University chapter of the National Society of Leadership and Success (NSLS) held its first induction ceremony of the 2019-2020 academic year on Saturday, December 7th at the DiSepio Institute for Rural Health & Wellness. 20 students were inducted into the NSLS and the event also recognized 1 additional member of the chapter who has completed the NSLS program for Advanced Certification and 3 additional members of the chapter who have completed the NSLS program for Executive Certification, the highest level of achievement for the national society.

In the 2018-2019 academic year, the Student Government Association (SGA) sponsored the official establishment of a chapter of the NSLS at SFU because of the alignment of the NSLS's mission of building leaders who make a better world with the goals of the SGA: leadership, community, service. 

“The NSLS chapter at Saint Francis continues to attract some of the very best and brightest students here at SFU; which is really saying something considering the outstanding caliber of students who attend Saint Francis,” says Chapter Advisor and Director of Student Engagement & Leadership Development Dr. Bobby Anderson. “The NSLS provides exceptional hands-on leadership training for students that translates directly into marketable skills regardless of their academic discipline.”

Only when a student successfully completes four training steps will they become eligible for induction into the society. One of those steps includes the Leadership Training Day workshop that focuses on defining one's personal statement of purpose, understanding their communication style and the styles of others, holding themselves and others to a higher standard of excellence, and more. It shows a great deal of the students' desire to grow as leaders, their commitment to take on additional professional development opportunities beyond their academic program, and the value they place on things like leadership and making an impact in the lives of others.

Students Inducted into the National Society of Leadership and Success, Saturday, December 7, 2019:

  • Sydney Adamik
  • Shelby Clowser
  • Heema Desai
  • Amber Elliott
  • Elyssa Enrique
  • Kaitlyn Fluke
  • Michelle Hildebrand
  • Mary Kinman
  • Laina Mastovich
  • Autumn McHenry
  • John Nguyen
  • Andrea Parrish
  • Joanna Sanders
  • Zack Schussler
  • Sumer Slebodnick
  • Gabrielle Sybert
  • Lauren Vasas
  • Makaylea Vicari
  • Reilly Wolff
  • Lauryn Zelnosky

Student who received Advanced Certification, Saturday, December 7, 2019

  • Taylor Butterbaugh

Students who received Executive Certification, Saturday, December 7, 2019

  • Brianne Antonella
  • Jessica Becke
  • Teresa Narduzzi

In addition to the students inducted, three members of the University’s faculty were also inducted as Honorary Members. Dr. Rosemary Bertocci, Professor of Religious Studies and Philosophy, was awarded the NSLS Excellence in Service to Students Award in addition to receiving Honorary Membership. Dr. Shlomit Flaisher-Grinberg, Assistant Professor of Psychology, was awarded the NSLS Excellence in Teaching Award in addition to receiving Honorary Membership. Mr. Kent Tonkin, Assistant Professor of Business Administration, also received an Honorary Membership and served as the keynote speaker for the induction ceremony. 


Featured News