Skip navigation

Six join Board of Trustees

November 2, 2018 Tags: Alumni , University News

SFU Board of Trustees

Saint Francis University has announced the election of six new members to its Board of Trustees for four-year terms beginning this fall. 

The new members who joined the board on October 1 are: Frank Pasqualone, of Ohio, COO of Theravance Biopharma, Inc.; Rev Luke Robertson, T.O.R., Holy Spirit Friary, Steubenville, Ohio; Terri Polley, of Norwalk, Connecticut, President and CEO of the Financial Accounting Foundation; Joy Thoma of New York, Senior Vice-President for corporations and global initiatives at Mastercard International; Dr. James Takacs, of Ebensburg, Doctor of veterinary medicine and owner of Ebensburg Animal Hospital; and Michael Walker, of Greensburg, owner of Loyalhanna Management Services, Mercury Trucking, and co-owner of CME Engineering. 

New Members

Frank Pasqualone 
Pasqualone worked most of his career in the pharmaceutical industry at Bristol Myers Squibb (BMS) where he was senior vice-president of their oncology division and then President of several of BMS's international regions.  Three years ago Frank left BMS to assume the position of COO of Theravance Biopharma, Inc., where he currently works.  Frank attended Bowling Green University's business school on a football scholarship.  He has an MBA from Dayton University. 

Rev. Luke Robertson, T.O.R.
Robertson is a minister with the Holy Spirit Friary, an Adjunct Professor for the Department of Social Work and Chaplain for St. Thomas More Hall at The Franciscan University of Steubenville, Steubenville, OH. He earned his bachelor’s degree with honors in English and American Literature, from the University of Warwick, Coventry, West Midlands, U.K. in 1980, a master’s degree in social work, from the University of Kentucky in 1986, master’s degrees in divinity and ecclesiastical history from the Washington Theological Union, Takoma Park, Washington, D.C. in 1998. His professional experience includes Program Manager and Residential Counselor, Administrative Director and Clinical Therapist, Secretary for Mission Outreach, Lead Caseworker, and Director of Pastoral Ministry.

Terri (Kaminski) Polley, ‘82
Polley of Norwalk, Connecticut is president and CEO of the Financial Accounting Foundation (FAF).  She graduated from SFU with degrees in Accounting and French.  After beginning her career with Arthur Andersen, she joined the FASB in 1987 and was promoted to positions of increasing responsibility.  She became the Controller of the FAF in 1990, appointed President of the FAF in 2008. Terri was subsequently promoted to the role of FAF President and Chief Executive Officer in 2010. 

Joy Thoma, ‘80
Thoma, who resides near New York City is senior vice-president for corporations and global initiatives at Mastercard International.  Joy graduated from SFU with a degree in psychology / pre-law and is a 1983 graduate of Northwestern University School of Law.  

Dr. James Takacs, ‘82
Dr. Takacs of Ebensburg is a doctor of veterinary medicine and owner of Ebensburg Animal Hospital, a full-service facility with six vets serving more than 25,000 patients.  Dr. Takacs earned a degree in biology from SFU, and a D.V.M. from the University of Pennsylvania.  He is the son of Dr. Wayne Takacs, SFU Professor Emeritus of Biology.  He is currently a member of the President’s Cabinet.

Michael Walker, ‘81
Walker is sole owner of Loyalhanna Management Services, Mercury Trucking, and co-owner of CME Engineering in Greensburg.  Michael earned his degree in Accounting, and was Mr. Frankie.  He and his wife Janice received honorary doctorates from SFU in 2013 in recognition for their work in support of Catholic Church-related charities.  Michael & Janice donated a transformational gift to the Schwab Hall campaign, securing the naming rights for the Kudrick-Oravec Vista Room.  Michael is a Trustee on Westmoreland County Community College’s board.  

Photo: 2018 Board of Trustees

Top Row (L to R) Kevin Miller; Fr. Patrick Whittle, T.O.R.; Joseph Waterman; Jacqueline Martella; Fr. Luke Robertson, T.O.R.; Daniel Friedrich, The Hon. Judy Ference Olson; John Sullivan; Frank Pasqualone; Kenneth Horoho

Middle Row (L to R) Fr. Sean Sheridan, T.O.R.; Michael Walker, Brittni Smallwood Moore; Lawrence Giannone; Rev. Malachi Van Tassell, T.O.R.; Very Rev. Richard Davis, T.O.R.; Teresa Polley; Paul Sansone; Sr. Katherine Caldwell, T.O.R.

Bottom Row (L to R) Frank Quitoni; Linda Eremita; Michael Calandra; Rev. Jude Ventiquattro, T.O.R.; Jean Payne Rogers; Dr. JamesTakacs; Joy Thoma; Paul McGrath; Br. Nathan Meckey, T.O.R.

Absent from photo: Rev. Seraphim Beshoner, T.O.R.